Excitement for Hockey Men’s World Cup Reaches Peak as All Tickets Sell Out in Rourkela


Last Updated: December 25, 2022, 15:29 IST

Indian hockey team in action (PTI Photo)

All match tickets for FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 in Rourkela got sold out within a week

As the clock nears the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 Bhubaneswar-Rourkela, the excitement and enthusiasm among hockey fans around the world have already reached beyond its peak.

The tournament, which is set to begin on January 13, 2023, will see 16 elite hockey teams from around the world in action.

Eager to witness the thrilling world hockey action taking place in Rourkela for the first time, the fans gathered in large numbers outside the newly constructed Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium since the opening of the Box Office on December 19 to buy tickets. And within a week, all match tickets in Rourkela have been sold out.

ALSO READ | Richarlison Receives ‘Goal of the Tournament’ Award for Bicycle Kick Against Serbia in FIFA World Cup

A total of 20 matches will take place at the new ‘jewel’ of hockey, the Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Rourkela, which has a seating capacity of over 20,000. Meanwhile, the iconic Kalinga Hockey Stadium in Bhubaneswar which has a sitting capacity of over 15,000, will host 24 matches, including cross-overs, quarter-finals, semi-finals, and the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 final.

The Indian Men’s Hockey Team, who are placed in Pool D, along with Spain will also begin their campaign against Spain on January 13 in Rourkela.

ALSO READ| ISL 2022-23: Lallianzuala Chhangte, Greg Stewart on The Mark as Mumbai City Beat Chennaiyin FC 2-1

Following their match against Spain on the first day of the competition, India will play England on January 15, in Rourkela, followed by their final group encounter against Wales on January 19 in Bhubaneswar.

The 16 teams competing in the tournament are Australia, Belgium, the Netherlands, India, Argentina, Germany, New Zealand, England, France, Korea, Malaysia, Spain, South Africa, Japan, Chile, and Wales.

Read all the Latest Sports News here

Source link

Leave a Response