Hardik Pandya Named Skipper for Ireland T20Is; Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson Included


All-rounder Hardik Pandya has been named skipper of India for the upcoming two T20Is against Ireland while Bhuvaneshwar Kumar will be his deputy. The squad also sees the inclusion of Rahul Tripathi for the first time while Suryakumar Yadav and Sanju Samson also return to India’s middle order. India are set to play two T20Is in Ireland after which they will travel to the neighboring England where they will play three T20Is. The series will not see KL Rahul who has already been ruled out from the lose Test match.

Pandya got the promotion as Rishabh Pant, who is currently leading the T20 side, will join the Indian Test squad in UK only after the South Africa series.  All the players, except Pant, are leaving for England early Thursday for the July 1-5 contest, notable being skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami.

Meanwhile Pandya’s stint as Gujarat Titans skipper, where he led the team to maiden IPL title, seems didn’t go unnoticed.

It has been decided that Pant will not be playing the two T20 Internationals against Ireland and hence Hardik, who is his deputy for the South Africa series, is expected to lead the side.

“While there is Dinesh Karthik, who is the senior-most player in the squad along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, it was Hardik, who was Pant’s designated deputy and hence favourite to lead,” the official added.

Full Squad: Hardik Pandya (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Get all the latest updates on Cricket News, Cricket Photos, Cricket Videos and Cricket Scores here

Source link

Leave a Response